Free software for organizing ideas and tracking info

Home Forums House of Creativity The Writing Pad Free software for organizing ideas and tracking info

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    arizela
    Participant
      0 Pirate Gold Coins

Hi, folks.

I haven’t posted to the boards in a long time, but I’m sure some of you remember me from chat.

I recently found a freeware that I thought would be really helpful to folks who were doing book research or preparing to write a sequel. It’s called QDA Miner Lite, and it’s actually a research tool used by people who do research on written or spoken (language-based) data. I’m currently using it to organize sources and ideas for a literature review for my dissertation, but as soon as I started playing with it, I saw the possible utility for writers of fiction.

Basically, you take any type of text (copy-paste or import as a document, PDF, etc) and put it in as a “case” (or source). Then you can make “codes” that indicate ideas or topics or details. For example, if I were doing research on herbs that might be used for healing properties in a pre-industrial society, I could copy in web-based text, make different codes for things like “stops bleeding” or “pain reliever” or “induce labor.” The codes are attached to specific information from the copied documents/text, and are searchable. They can be grouped and you can even pull up statistics to see how many of your sources agree on something. To continue my example, I could also code information by each herb, by the climate where it grows, etc., all with just a few clicks. You could even put all your research in one project file and group the codes by story so that you can cross-pollinate them with information that is useful to more than one without having to work harder than a highlight and click.