Anyone Here Experienced in the Art of Symbolism?

Home Forums House of Creativity The Writing Pad Anyone Here Experienced in the Art of Symbolism?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Tom Tucker
    Participant
      0 Pirate Gold Coins

I’m working on a short story right now. I’m new to the game. I’ve never finished a story before and this one has turned into something with meaning. I’m thinking about expounding on certain aspects of the world I created and using symbolism. Another thing, I want certain things that my characters do be symbolic. An example related to what I mean, would be like something in Plato’s Phaedo. If anyone here has read that, there is a scene where he puts his feet on the ground and doesn’t move them throughout the whole discussion he has with Simmias and Cebes. This apparently represents his acceptance of material aspects of the world and their relation to the nonmaterial/more divine aspects such as immaterial things. These would be thoughts and ideas because they are more intertwined with the soul considering we accept that all learning is recollection,(an assertion made by Socrates).

My concern is this. I’m a seat of the pants writer, which means that I’ll have to add the symbolism through my revision. This seems like a bad method to me, but when I think about my story to myself, there are parts that already seem symbolic when I think about them, which is odd because I never planned on them being so. Now, I just plan on expounding on them.

So, does anyone have any suggestions. If anyone else writes about the same stuff as me, feel free to explain your method. Such as, how much do you explain. Is it a rule that you never explain the symbolism in the narration. As in, use the symbolism, then use some type of metaphor that illustrates it? I feel like that would be a mistake, but if I don’t do that, I run the risk of the reader not seeing the symbolism. In short, please tell your experiences with all of this.